/ Business

Manage permissions for your business account

Most companies start out small, which usually means the CEO is also the CTO, CFO and everything in between. But as your business grows, so do your responsibilities, and all of a sudden you start to realise that you simply don't have enough time to handle everything on your own. That's why most entrepreneurs start building teams early on so they can unload some of their responsibilities as the business grows.

But we're not just making this stuff up. We've been there too, and we know how exciting it is to roll up your sleeves and get it done all by yourself - it's a truly rewarding feeling. Revolut started out with a team of four talented folks who built and managed everything in the business for more than a year, before the team started to grow.

And just like with us, sooner or later reality hits back, making you realise that you won't be able to keep up this do-it-yourself approach forever. Once your company gets to this stage, it's very important not only to surround yourself with capable people whom you can trust, but equally have the right tools and processes in place to allow your business to scale.

So, when we started designing our business product, we took a step back to think about the struggles we faced when Revolut was growing up, and how we might be able to take those learnings and use them to build clever solutions and help other businesses flourish - just like we did, not so long ago.


What are permissions and why do I need them? 🤷‍♂️

A lot of our business customers tend to give multiple people access to their accounts. These people are often colleagues or accountants who need access to the business account, to help keep the business running smoothly.

However, you will probably want to be able to restrict what these people have access to. Our permissions allow you to stay in control, by defining what they can see and do. Account permissions let you to grant certain people in your organisation access to the business account. By setting different permissions for different people in your company, you can create a complex structure and define who can do what on the account.

With a Revolut Business account, each role you create allows you to set permissions for sending and exchanging money, as well as to control the ability to see and edit the the account profile, company accounts, transactions, counterparties, corporate cards, employees, integrations and our Open API.

While your fledgling business might not need to define permissions now, it's something to consider as you grow. For those running larger companies with multi-person access, permissions are an absolute must.


Can I set permissions for my accountant? 📊

Of course you can - in fact, this was precisely the first use case we had for this feature. Permissions are particularly useful for customers who have accountants with access to their business accounts.

So, for instance, let’s imagine you want your accountant to see your transactions, but you don't want them to be able to make payments. With our permissions, you can easily configure it so that they can only see relevant information, without being able to execute any payments.


What will they see once permissions are restricted? 🧐

This really depends on the permissions you’ve set. If you’ve limited the person’s ability to make certain actions, they will be unable to click on them. And if you’ve removed their ability to see see certain things, they will not be able to see them at all.


Sounds good - how do I go about setting this up? 💻

Head over to the Settings tab, click through to Users and you’ll be able to configure permission there.

You can define permissions for everyone who has access to the account. You can either select from the predefined profiles (such as “accountant”), or you can create your own profiles for different roles in the organisation.

And if your circumstances change and you need to remove the person altogether, you can easily do this in the same section - all in a few clicks.


One more thing - how much does it cost? 🤔

Glad you asked - there is no additional charge for this feature. Permissions are included as part of your account, and are one of the many features that make our business accounts radically better.

Subscribe to our Blog 💼